I love magazines! But at what cost?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I’m sure most of you know, I am a big fan of magazines. Not just because I write for them from time to time (hopefully more frequently soon), but because I love to flip through their glossy pages and read them. Well, to my surprise (although it shouldn’t really have been a shock, since I know all about the cost of imported goods here), when I decided to go to a magazine store to find copies of my favourite American magazines (I knew they’d never have any Canadian publications), the prices were sky high. I was hoping to take home a copy of the American version of National Geographic, but it was upward of R$20 (around $10). And to get any kind of American fashion magazine will cost you at least that, but probably more. Even rags like People and other $1.99 magazines are around R$15 here.

Moral of the story: Appreciate North American prices. (It’s hard to ignore them here, since they’re still printed on the cover of every magazine, just to rub it in a little more.) And buy local. Only Brazilian magazines for me from now on! I’m looking at you, Rolling Stone, ELLE and National Geographic. (They all happen to be excellent, anyway.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Brazil, Publications and Writing

Leave a Reply

